IWFL Network

Phoenix Phantomz
Nov 2017 21

Last Call

Aug 2017 26

May 2017 30

Posted In Uncategorized

May 2017 11

May 2017 04

Posted In News

Phantomz Article written by Hailey Hole, ASU Sports Reporter

The Independent Women’s Football League (IWFL) has made massive progress for women’s contact football in America and is still currently working to further expand the league.

The league was founded in 2000 by players who were determined to start a women’s contact football. It started as a way to bring football to the masses by allowing women to participate in the full contact version of the sport, unlike powder puff, flag football or lingerie football. Over the years, the IWFL has set a standard for other leagues to follow in the development of women’s football for the future.

In 2010, the IWFL teamed up with USA Football, which is a non-profit national governing body for amateur American football in the United States, and created the first ever United States Women’s National Team. Not only did the team compete in the inaugural International Federation of American Football (IFAF) Women’s World Championship Tournament, they won it.

There are multiple leagues that give women the chance to play the game such as, the Women’s Football Alliance (WFA), the United States Women’s Football League (USWFL), and the Lingerie Football League (LFL). Out of all the women’s football leagues, the IWFL is the only league in history that offers performance bonus prize awards to dedicated players that shine out on the field.